关于探索校园

种植户外学习

自 1996 年以来,塔克霍的示范项目 Discovery Schoolyard 一直在丰富学生的学习体验。几个花园区或户外教室为动手实践、基于自然的课程提供了环境,使学生能够与课程建立有意义的现实世界联系. 塔卡霍的学生使用校园种植和收获蔬菜、测量户外条件、观察野生动物、激发艺术作品等等。 学生们还轮流照料花园,这培养了一种管理意识。 Discovery Schoolyard 为志愿者提供无数机会 engage是一项真正的社区努力,长期以来一直得到我们的 PTA 和社区合作伙伴的大力支持。

蒸汽连接

在花园里工作基于自然的学习为激发学生参与与课程相关的STEAM(科学,技术,工程,艺术,数学)活动提供了启发。 例如,学生探索动物适应如何激发人类创新,研究植物纤维的用途,测量环境条件等等。 这些引人入胜的经验可培养批判性思维,沟通和协作能力。

志愿者机会

Schoolyard是一项真正的社区活动,有多种参与方式,包括:

  • 社区花园工作日
  • 校园管家计划
  • 在户外活动中协助您的孩子上课
  • …和更多!

有关更多信息,请访问Tuckahoe主页以获取最新的志愿者机会和注册。 如有特定问题,请随时与Tuckahoe的户外学习协调员联系, 玛格丽特·伊根

About The Discovery Schoolyard

plantingOutdoor Learning

Tuckahoe’s Exemplary Project, Discovery Schoolyard, has been enriching learning experiences for students since 1996. Several garden areas, or outdoor classrooms, provide the setting for hands-on, nature-based lessons that allow students to make meaningful real-world connections to the curriculum. Tuckahoe students use the schoolyard to grow and harvest vegetables, measure outdoor conditions, observe wildlife, inspire artwork, and more. Students also take turns caring for the gardens, which fosters a sense of stewardship. Discovery Schoolyard provides myriad opportunities for volunteer engagement, and is a true community endeavor with a long history of strong support from our PTA and community partners.

S.T.E.A.M. Connections

working in the gardenNature-based learning provide inspiration for engaging students in curriculum-connected S.T.E.A.M. (science, technology, engineering, art, math) activities. For example, students explore how animal adaptations have inspired human innovation, investigate uses for plant fibers, measure environmental conditions, and more. These engaging experiences foster critical thinking, communication, and collaboration skills.

Volunteer Opportunities

The Schoolyard is a true community endeavor with many ways to get involved, including:

  • Community Garden Workdays
  • Schoolyard Stewards Program
  • Assisting your child’s class with outdoor activities
  • …and More!

For more information, please check the Tuckahoe homepage for updated volunteer opportunities and sign ups.  For specific questions, feel free to contact Tuckahoe’s Outdoor Learning Coordinator, Margaret Egan.